My dream home

I spent yesterday alone with the man of my dreams, my hubs.  We planned a day together to celebrate the new season we’re entering with his new job .  We drove out to Grand Rapids, which will soon be our new community, all with the intentions of becoming more familiar with the city.  I know this next year will be fun for us as we dream about the endless possibilities of where we will live next.   We sat across the table from each other last night and with a crayon in hand, we wrote out our must haves and wants for our future.

We have lived in our current home for seven years now and with each year, we have built something more beautiful.  The memories we hold here will be hard to leave but we know there are new ones for us to make.

The older that I get, the more passionate I become about the place my family calls home.  I want to build a place where my family can run to when they need to be reminded of what’s important in life. I want them to want to be home because it’s the best place on earth to be.

Anyone can have a beautiful home but that’s not my dream.

My dream is to have a home where people can feel something different as they enter our driveway.  A place where all the cares of this world are left at the door and a warm cup of coffee is readily available.  A place where kids can be kids and laughter is heard from every corner.  A place where love matters most and God abides.  A place where people leave forever changed.

As we set out to discover where it is that God has for us next, one thing will remain… My role as the keeper of our home.

Girlfriends, it’s our job….”To live wisely and be pure, to work in our homes, to do good, and to be submissive to our husbands. Then we will not bring shame to the word of God”.  Titus 2:5

I have lots of things that I love about our home today but my favorite thing by far is the place where I start out each morning.  It’s where my Bible and journal sit and its where I meet with Jesus.  I have had many seasons over the years where He has given me just what I needed for that day.  I am confident that He has a special place for us to meet together in the future and that He will lead me to it.

Do you have a favorite place?

jensig-1

Leave a Reply

