Here’s to a new Year… A day late

For the last few weeks, I’ve been bombarded with dreams for the new year.  I noticed that I started out with the same line in my journal more than once…  “God, I have so many dreams for the new year.”  It’s like something happens inside of my heart during this season where I just want to achieve it all.  I want to live in good health (what does that even mean?). I want to travel the world and to remodel every room of my house.  I want to stretch us to give radically, and to live debt-free.  I want to reach new heights in my relationship with God and others.  I want to make memories with my family and capture as many hugs from my children as possible.  I want to write for and inspire women all over the world. I want to love my husband even more than I did the year before.

And I want to lead.

Yesterday came and the truth is, I felt like I failed.  I didn’t do ONE sticking productive thing.  I lounged in my pj’s all day.  I couldn’t seem to get motivated like I thought I would.  I could have went for a run or made a healthy dinner.  I could have blogged or cleaned or organized something, but I didn’t.  And as the day moved on, I felt worse and worse about myself.  I was hearing this…

Here it is a new year and you are in the same place, so much for those dreams of yours.

Praise God, that His mercies are new every morning!

Lamentations 3:22 -24 God’s loyal love couldn’t have run out,     his merciful love couldn’t have dried up. They’re created new every morning.     How great your faithfulness! I’m sticking with God (I say it over and over).     He’s all I’ve got left.

FullSizeRenderThis morning, I woke up before everyone else and I spent time with the One who has put each of these dreams in my heart.  I will need His grace and strength for every day of this year to lead and guide me to the things that He has prepared for me.

My husband hung this frame above my desk for me to look at every single day.  It holds the dreams for our family for 2015. We have written them down and now we must trust God to help us all walk them out.  Only He can!  The second that we begin to try to do any one of them on our own, we will fail.

Prayer:

Oh God – You are so forgiving.  Thank you for renewing my heart and mind this morning and for giving me the strength to start a fresh new year.  Lead me to all that you have for me.  Don’t allow me to miss out on what you have prepared for me to receive.  I am so excited about the journey ahead.  I love you.

 

Leave a Reply

