Lord, please don’t let me fire burn out.

Screen Shot 2014-06-11 at 7.39.15 PM“Give me oil in my lamp, keep it burning burning burning, Give me oil in my lamp I pray.”

I started a 10-week challenge 2 weeks ago with my husband, our older boys and our youth pastor.   I am committed to seeing it through.  With this challenge, I have personally committed myself to running and eating healthier in order to accomplish my goal, which is to lose 10 pounds.

Tonight as I began my run, I found myself echoing these words:

“Lord, please don’t let me burn out”.

 I think that they were fueled by the thoughts of the season of life that the Lord has me in right now.  I find myself tired at the end of each day.  Pulled in so many different directions and always hopeful for the light at the end of the tunnel.  I have learned to take advantage of every second that the day brings forth and to fill it with purpose.

On the final stretch of my run, I think of encouraging things to say to myself to keep me motivated to end strong.  Lord knows that’s the prayer of my heart. Oh God, I want to burn bright for you!

I recognize that this is a season of my life where most of my time is spent changing diapers, repeating bath time, making meals and cleaning the house but it won’t always be.  Only God will be able to keep the fire that is burning in my heart burning bright for the years to come.  It is in Him that I find my purpose now and forever.

jensig-1

Leave a Reply

