Getting to the root

One of my passions in life is to work on my yard.  I enjoy cutting the grass, watering the flowers and even pulling the weeds.  I think the reason that I enjoy it so much is because I like the transformation that happens as I tend to it.  Yes, it is work but I find it rewarding.   I love to sit and look over my yard once it has been mowed and listen to the birds sing…. It just does something good for my soul.

This year, we have been bombarded with dandelions.  I’m not a fan of them at all!  They seem to be ruining my ability to enjoy the fruit of my labor.  For the last few weeks, the day after I have mowed the grass, the dandelions are sprouting forth and standing tall.  It’s like I just can’t get rid of them.

DSC_0165

We have a huge yard so the idea of me going around and trying to get each and every one of them would be impossible but it didn’t stop me from trying for a few hours tonight.  As I was on my hands and knees pulling these weeds out of our front yard, God spoke to my heart.

He reminded me that we all have roots that need to be dug up.  We can try to do all the maintenance in the world to manage the weeds from sprouting in our lives but it won’t do us any good if we don’t ever find the root and dissolve of it.

There are so many destructive patterns that we all carry with us throughout our lives.  God patiently waits for us to allow Him to bring us to the root of the issue that is causing so much pain, heartache, and frustration.

So my prayer today for myself is this…. “Oh God, show me the weeds in my life.  Bring me to every root.  Help me to partner with you to dig them all out one by one.

DSC_0160

jensig-1

Leave a Reply

