The blues after the holidays

Screen shot 2014-01-02 at 9.27.47 AMI can’t help but think of my sweet mom this morning.  I know what her heart is experiencing right now.  She makes it very clear to us what makes her happy.  For the last 9 days she was experiencing a touch of heaven in her mind.  She had all of her children and now grandchildren, home.  In this stage of life, we are all spread apart and so what once happened every week on Sundays (our family meals), now only comes on special holidays.

I watched her dance around her home spreading love everywhere she stepped.  Her eyes lit up the whole time and she was purposely making her rounds.  The place was in disarray, children playing, dishes piling, and laughter filling each room.

I sent her a text this morning.  I want her to know…….

When I think about the woman that she is, I feel so inadequate.  I thought about writing this blog and decided to find a picture of her from her facebook page, (I love this one of her, she’s so beautiful).  As I flipped through her photos, tears filled my eyes.

She has lived the most selfless life of anyone I know.  How could anyone follow in her footsteps?  She does it so gracefully and makes it seem effortless.

Why not try.  It is the beginning of a new year.  Right up there on the top of my list of resolutions is to work harder at being the loving woman of my home. It has always been one of my goals, but I know that I can always try harder.

Thank you dear mother for paving the way.  I honor you.

Proverbs 14:1 “The wise woman builds her home, but the foolish woman tears it down with her own hands”.

jensig-1

One thought on “The blues after the holidays

  1. Jen, this entry brought tears to my eyes. You are such a sweet daughter and so much like your mother in many ways. You must make your mom proud! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

