Looking back so I can move forward: 2014

photo(35)The year of 2013 is coming to an end.  This morning as I sit here reflecting on what the year brought to us, I am grateful for each step of the journey.  If I only looked at certain parts of the road we traveled, I might walk away a bit discouraged but when I look at the whole picture, I see the beauty that He created.

I started by looking back on my blog and remembered that I lost the first half of the year of my posts.  That was a real bummer.  I learned the lesson of not deleting a website until you’ve saved all the content first.  A hard lesson to learn.

The biggest highlite of our year was on June 15th, when our 5th son was born, Jude Martin.  The months leading up to his birth were packed with anticipation, preparation and travail.  His addition to our home has brought so much joy and fulfillment.  He’s a happy baby and he holds his mama’s heart.

This year our oldest son bought his first car, landed a job, played a lead role in his high school musical, had his 17th birthday and is talking about what career choices he will make for his life.  WOW!

Andrew, our next in line, had the lead role in his musical, started high school, played soccer, grew like a foot, turned 14 and went on his first “date” to a Christmas dance (with a Sophomore, I might add).

David also started high school, played soccer, grew tons, discovered new friends, turned 14, and has become the best big brother to his younger brother Keegan.

Keegan turned 3, lost his role as the baby, goes potty on the big boy toilet, learned how to ride a bike and discovered Woody and Buzz Lightyear.

My sweet husband landed lots of design jobs, shaved his head, got serious about his health, fell in love with his newborn son, sold his motor cycle and finally went full-time at his dream job as the worship director of our church.

Me, well I had a baby, hosted a few conferences, had lots of cups of coffee with friends,wrote up my first business proposal, lost lots of sleep, nursed a ton, experienced loss on many levels, read some good books,and forgot what exercise feels like.

So again, today I reflect but not without looking forward.  A few years ago, I felt like God was showing me some things about 2014.  I am eager to see those things fulfilled.

I encourage you to sit down and write out your goals for the upcoming year.  Make a dream board, and expect God to do great and mighty things in and through you.

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it, I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19

jensig-1

One thought on “Looking back so I can move forward: 2014

  1. Thank you for sharing your year which was full of blessings. May all who read this take the time to reflect on this past year if they haven’t already. I think they may be surprised at the “hidden” blessings they will find. Off now to find my own hidden blessings♥
    .

Leave a Reply

