Conditioning determines your outcome

Screen shot 2013-12-07 at 1.46.43 PMProverbs 25:28 “He who has no rule over his own spirit is like a city that is broken down and without walls.”

This time of year is a bit more challenging for me to exercise.  I could easily use the fact that there is snow and ice outside as an opportunity to take this season off from exercising and I chose to do that the last two days.  With my hubby being home on this cozy yet wintery Saturday, I decided that I needed to take advantage of my opportunity to escape outside.

I love to process my thoughts while I’m out walking.  As I retreat from the busyness of my life and the family inside, I quickly enter into an oasis with my Abba.  A few weeks ago while out on a walk, I felt Him preparing me for a season of conditioning.  I wasn’t really sure what that meant but I’ve been trying to focus on being more intentional with my life by trying to eat healthier, walk regularly, drink more water and allow myself to rest.

Today, I felt Him say, do you know the difference between conditioning and an actual race itself?  I was confused by the question.  I kept replaying it in my head.  What does that mean?  The more that I thought it through, the more that I realized the significance of what it meant.  You see your time of conditioning determines your outcome.  You could never complete a marathon without the proper season of preparation beforehand.  I think so many of us try to run the race that life throws in front of us  without properly training beforehand.  It’s no wonder why we tire out and sometimes quit the race altogether.  Our bodies are not wired to operate like that.

It all clicked for me.  I just kept saying “daily conditioning is everything”.  That is what separates someone from success.  Discipline requires daily sacrifice.  It isn’t easy to exercise or to get up earlier in the morning to spend time with the Lord.  It takes self-control to say no to things and it takes time to build up strength to accomplish the things that He’s called us to.   Some choose to condition and some don’t.

We are coming to the end of another year.  Maybe 2014 will be the year of success.  Time will tell.  Conditioning will matter.

jensig-1

Leave a Reply

