Combating the lies.

I was getting ready this morning and “they” returned.  It has been quite some time since I’ve listened.  In fact, I don’t even remember when it was last, that’s how long it has been.

But there I was standing in front of the mirror putting on my makeup and the voices began.

“You’re getting old”

“You will never look like you did when you were younger”

“You don’t look good in anything”

“You might as well stay home from church this morning”

I prayed.  I rebuked. I combated them the best I could.

It felt like such a heaviness.  A set of chains that I couldn’t break.  Once I got to church this morning, I knew I needed to hear a message that would help me to overcome what I was feeling.

The message was formulated around just one word.  A word that would be the answer for any problem that life may send my way.  The answer for any lie that the enemy wanted to give me.

The simple word that I’ve heard a million times before.

JESUS.

That’s it.

As the service closed and we sang the song “Oceans” by Hillsong, I pictured myself fixing my eyes on Jesus.  I felt the freedom that my heart was crying out for.  I had taken my eyes off of Him and began to look at my flaws.

Jesus is always the answer.

Leave a Reply

