Remember.

If you were to look back over your life, could you identify the different “season’s” of growth that you journeyed through?

While working through the devotional book that a group of us are going through, this week’s lesson encourages us to write out pivotal times from our past that have shaped us into who we are today.  The book, “Experiencing God” uses story after story in the Bible of ones that made a form of an alter after their encounter with God.

Instantly I remembered a season in my life where I knew God was journeying with me.  A time when life was so hard that I never would have made it through if it weren’t for my faith in Him.

That was the year of 2007 for me.  The entire year seems like a blur.  It was the best and worst year of my life.  My experience with God was so real but it was also the darkest time of my life too.

199830_1003038352913_4279_nThis picture took place on a beautiful late summer night, August 12, 2007.  I went to a small lake and found myself being the only one there.  Well, not the only one (God’s presence was so strong).  I saw some rocks laying nearby as I watched the sunset and  journaled, I felt compelled to build an alter.  I didn’t want to forget that season with Him.  I wanted to promise Him that I would be faithful and I wanted to have some memory of that intimate evening with Him.  I decided to take a picture.

I have revisited that special place a few times and the rocks have since lost their way back into the sand but the memory of it remains in my heart.  Although I wanted to promise the Lord that I would never let Him down and that I would obey Him in whatever situation He brought me to, I forgot one key thing… (I was human).

Sadly, I have failed Him time and time again, yet He remains the same.

Could you write out your timeline if you had to?

jensig-1

Leave a Reply

