The beauty within balance

 Peter 5:8 – Be well balanced (temperate, sober of mind), be vigilant and cautious at all times; for that enemy of yours, the devil, roams around like a lion roaring [in fierce hunger], seeking someone to seize upon and devour.

Proverbs 11:1 – A false balance is an abomination to the Lord,But a just weight is His delight.

When I first felt the call to begin a ministry for women a few years ago, my heart was over-flooded with both excitement and passion for such a task.  I was committed to the call and open to Him showing me the way.  When He spoke to my heart and gave me the vision of ministering to women, my faith in who He was for me exploded and I recognized that He was much bigger than I had ever understood.

I took my excitement and headed to the streets.  I believed that every single person that He put in my path had a role and purpose in the call.  I met one by one with women from every denomination within our community and each of them spoke truth into my life.

With those spoken words, a greater hunger to KNOW Him took root in my heart.

But wouldn’t you know it –  the enemy was watching my every move.  I wasn’t giving him an “in” so he had to find one. He chose to use what seemed to be “good” in my life and turn it up a notch.   My hunger became a starvation and it was addicting.  With my desire to KNOW Him more,  I found myself becoming more and more out of balance.  The enemy had overplayed his hand once again.

The Lord has been speaking the word BALANCE to me for the last few weeks.  I have had to take a few steps backwards to see the why that is and what it means.  As I’ve done that, my eyes have seen more clearly the path that I was on… It was leading me straight for destruction.

There are so many places in our lives that can get out of balance. I encourage you to take a step back to see if there is something that needs to be re-evaluated in your life.  This should be something we do on a regular basis.

My prayer for you as you read this is that God show you the perfect balance in your pursuit of Him.  If you have found yourself running dry, may He lead you to the peace you’re longing for.

 

Leave a Reply

