Keeping your promises

Have you ever been in a position where you have caught yourself trying to bargain with God?  A place where you are so desperate to have Him help you, that you find yourself making promises to Him about what you will do if He just gives you what you are asking for?

Once your situation became less desperate, did you fulfill your promise or did you forget that you ever made one to begin with?

I can think back in my life to many different times that I told God that I would do something if He would just do something for my situation.

Sadly, I wasn’t always true to my promises.

I recently read about Hannah again and it inspired me to make a new promise between me and the Lord.  I wrote out a prayer on a 3×5 card regarding a situation in my life and I made a covenant with the Lord like Hannah did many years ago.  Now, its not for the same thing that Hannah prayed for nor would I ever offer what she did but I am following her example.  Once the Lord answers my pray (and I fully believe that He will), I pray that I am faithful like Hannah was.

1 Samuel 1:9 -11

9 Once when they had finished eating and drinking in Shiloh, Hannah stood up. Now Eli the priest was sitting on his chair by the doorpost of the LORD’s house. 10 In her deep anguish Hannah prayed to the LORD, weeping bitterly. 11 And she made a vow, saying, “LORD Almighty, if you will only look on your servant’s misery and remember me, and not forget your servant but give her a son, then I will give him to the LORD for all the days of his life, and no razor will ever be used on his head.”

Leave a Reply

