Always searching for more


Today’s post is inspired by the Jericho Road Church  women’s group.    Every other Saturday morning, we have been digging deeper into the word together and by doing so, it has created illuminating conversations for us.

Our study on the fruits of the Spirit is almost over now and  we will be moving into a new book by: Francis Chan called “Forgotten God” .

That study will start on March 17th.

As we were working through the word JOY last Saturday and trying to dig deeper into understanding its significance for us,  our conversation shifted towards how we each are uniquely created.

I have a daily journal that my mom gave me last summer.  It has a new verse for me to read each day as I open it up to journal in it.

Today’s verse was this:

Ephesians 4:1 NIV “I urge you to live a life worthy of the calling you have received.” 

So I went to my concordance and looked up a few verses on the word “Calling”.

Romans 11:29 – “For the gifts and the calling of God are irrevocable.”

Ephesians 4:1 – ” I beg you to walk worthy of the calling with which you were called”.

Hebrews 3:1 – ” We have been given a heavenly calling”.  (This was also the memory verse of the morning for me and the boys today).

I am still trying to discover what exactly my gifts and callings are from God and how they can be used to encourage those that He puts in my pathway each day.  I now see that the ones He puts before me have been put there to encourage me back.

God is always trying to teach us more of who He is.  That brings me JOY!

 

-Jennifer

Leave a Reply

