Five Minute Friday: In real life




Philippians 4:8

Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is TRUE, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

At what point is it okay to tell the truth?

One of the hardest parts about telling your story is – How it could affect someone else.

As I have worked on writing “My story”, I continuously find myself STUCK.

Some things that hold me back….

.. What if nobody wants to hear it?
.. What if people get hurt by me telling it?
.. What if I fall on my face and expose myself to that attention?
.. What if others share the hurt I’ve inflicted on them?
.. What if I am not ready for this?

A TRUTH

A few years ago, I was struggling with being a closet smoker… Although I had tried to quit smoking for many years, I just could not get myself to be set free. I remember sitting down to talk about this stronghold in my life with a man who has such amazing wisdom and has NEVER judged me. (My daddy).

I told him how I wanted freedom so desperately from it.

He said “Jennifer, you have to discover the lie that the enemy has sold you about it”.
I remember going home that day to write out some of the lies. Here are just a few that I came up with.

1. I can afford them
2. Nobody knows its a struggle for you
3. Its not killing you (you barely smoke that much)
4. Just one more pack, and you’ll be done
5. My children will never know
6. It will help your problems go away
7. You like it

Uncovering the lies, led me to freedom.

What lies are you being told?


2 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: In real life

  1. this is so incredibly accurate. i know JUST how this works. tell me story, or don't? be honest, or hide me behind so much secrecy and fitting into a "mold"? this is every heartcry.

  2. Jen, Wow!! Your boldness and transparency is inspiring! I struggle so, so much with believing the lies Satan feeds me and then manifesting them by keeping them a secret. May God continue to give us courage to meditate on truth and expose our weaknesses so that Satan no longer has us in the dark and we (and others) can be healed!! Thank you for this wonderful post!Have a fun "football"'weekend!! We're onour way now!!Blessings!Brenda

Leave a Reply

