A couple months ago, I read a verse that I had already read and heard a thousands times before.

It was this:

Psalms 37:4 -Delight yourself in the Lord AND HE WILL give you the desires of your heart.



I keep asking Him the question, what does it mean to “delight myself in You, Lord”.

Here is the definition I found online

delight [dɪˈlaɪt]

vb

1. (tr) to please greatly

2. (intr; foll by in) to take great pleasure (in)

I know the things He has been putting in my heart lately to think about and dream about and I just believe that as I continue to discover how to please greatly or to take great pleasure in Him, that these desires will become something attainable.

I’ve been asking Him for wisdom on how to begin stepping in the direction of my calling and true purpose for Him. I feel like He has been gently guiding me there.

I started writing a daily verse on a small dry erase board on our fridge. Yesterday the verse that He brought me to and that I wrote was this:

Matthew 7:11 – If you then, being evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father who is in heaven give what is good to those who ask Him.

I think of so many things that I’ve wanted or thought that I needed but for some reason I have never really took the time to ask Him for them first. I have asked for some things and not gotten them but for the most part, it just has not been part of my custom to ask for the basics. I wrote out a small list of some things that our family will need to get in the next few weeks. These are things that in the past, I just would have went to get without asking Him to provide them first. I think I have just made it a priority to not ask Him for things unless it was out of desperation. WOW… That’s so sad.

My prayer:

Forgive me Lord. I don’t want to only need you when things are desperate. I want to need you throughout every day for every little detail of my life. I can’t make it one day without you holding my hand. That’s how close I want us to be. Thank you daddy for giving me such peace today.

Your daughter.

Leave a Reply

