The last couple of months God continues to show Himself faithful by pushing me to discover the truth behind the areas of pain in my life. One thing that I love about blogging is that it brings me the ability to put “my story” in word form to capture the season for my heart and then also for me to be able to release whatever negative feelings that experience may have brought me.
Yesterday, I read the post Hillary wrote on her blog
http://www.quiveringdaughters.com/
and it inspired me again to fully lay myself down in obedience and to open myself up for whatever God wants for me to do with the crap in the rear view mirror of my life. I know that I have miles to go with understanding who I am and why certain things have happened in my life, but I am on that journey. I also know that the enemy wants to hold me back from talking about the Freedom, the Healing, the Truth that God has brought to me as I’ve cried out to Him in desperation. He has led me to the right verses, the right people, the right books, the right places for more answers to the knot I need unraveled and for the discoveries He has waiting for me.
I would be viciously lying if I said that I have “arrived” at the whole understanding myself thing, but I certainly have had my eyes opened lately to the fact that everyone is hurting. Everyone has a story. Not one of us has the same experience or circumstance, but we all have the common bond of pain. All of us.
I am overwhelmed with a passion to minister to others in their pain. I’ve asked God to lead me to the ones that are ready to jump in and re-open the wounds that are all scabbed over and have scarred up their lives.
Today, I attended a seminar. I went to one of the breakout sessions and the woman speaking http://dawnscottjones.posterous.com/
had my full attention. I have went to many woman’s retreats and conferences and can usually walk away slightly encouraged. Today, I had to talk with Dawn and let her know just how much her message meant to me. She inspired me deeply to move into all that God has for me. One of the things she touched on was living transparently. I think all too often people in the church have a tendency to walk around with their heads up and masks on and talk about their perfect lives and perfect children and homes.

I’ve seen family after family in the church destroyed by the idea that its okay to pretend. The reason the family,marriage, pastor, deacon fell apart was because they were pretending and didn’t feel comfortable enough with what was under the surface for others to see.
What if “the church” was truthful? What would that look like?

I’m in the process of trying to live truthfully… Excited and feeling liberated about what that looks like for me.

One thought on “

  1. “You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden. Neither do people light a lamp and put it under a bowl. Instead they put it on its stand, and it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven". Mtt. 5:14-16.I live my life like an open book, nothing to hide. After all, one day it will be revealed anyway, so why not follow Jesus, live righteously and work for the Kingdom in this present world? If one is not living openly, he is hiding some wrong or sin in their life, living in the dark. To live openly, though, it challenges you to live and do right. And how does one know what is right if they don't read the Bible daily and search the scriptures for God's laws and Jesus' commands. As I read the Gospels, I look to see how Jesus acted or lived and then try to imitate Him. The more I do this, the more I flee from wrong and am not ashamed to let my light shine through transparancy and the truth. The Holy Spirit then indwells me deeper and deeper, and my relationship with God grows closer and closer. As my joy in God meets God's joy in me, there is Heavenly ecstasy. Light on!

Leave a Reply

