letting go

Its the morning of the 4th of July and its gorgeous outside. I just came in from watering the flowers. That takes about a half of an hour to do. I’m always lost in thought while wandering from flower to flower. We don’t have our older boys for this beautiful Holiday and usually I can let that get the best of my whole day but God continues to heal my heart (and theirs). The thought that came to my mind today is that one day our boys will become men of their own homes. Every day that they are without me is just a preparation for what that will feel like for me inside. As they are getting older and becoming more busy and away from home more often, I could focus on myself and how that makes me feel OR I can focus on what God wants to show me with His plan for my life.
I think as a mother I can lose my identity in our children. That seems selfless and like the right thing to do, but it couldn’t be farther from the truth.
The truth is that God has a plan for me even outside of my children. Yup, I said it. I love my children so deeply and the best thing I can do for them is to show them that its okay to find themselves. Its okay to begin letting go. Its okay to dream… Their mommy has the same heavenly father that wants to show her new things too.
Today will be a wonderful day for us all. With or without each other.

2 thoughts on “letting go

Leave a Reply

